Facebook announces revised privacy settings

If you’re one of the 350 million Facebook users, you saw the same thing I did at the top of my page this morning… an open letter from founder Mark Zuckerberg.

Here’s the highlight:  We’re adding something that many of you have asked for — the ability to control who sees each individual piece of content you create or upload. In addition, we’ll also be fulfilling a request made by many of you to make the privacy settings page simpler by combining some settings.

This week, one of my co-workers on a non-profit campaign asked if it’s possible to use Constant Contact to publish to Facebook walls… and, of course, it isn’t.  This particular outreach effort is aimed at a particular subset of youth in our community, and you can’t get to them via email.  Facebook isn’t email, but it did make me wonder if Facebook will continue to evolve into a giant inbox, particularly if we can have granular control over who sees what.  I still like managing my communications through my email client, but FB does have the advantage of less SPAM.

What if Facebook becomes a cross between email and a personalized home page?  What if it takes on some of the features of Google Wave with these new privacy settings?

2 Comments

Filed under Social media

2 responses to “Facebook announces revised privacy settings

  1. Hey Betsy, don’t know if you’re aware but you can now create an archive for your Constant Contact publications with unique URL which can then be posted on fb as a link.

  2. Thanks for the tip! I prefer to use LinkedIn for professional stuff, and I do have an app running that automatically publishes my blog there. I tend to keep Facebook for friends and family… but it’s all evolving so fast. I’ll ponder the idea!