Generations collide on Facebook!

my facebook page

my facebook page

Allyson Kapin of Frogloop reports that the 55+ group is the fastest growing demographic segment on Facebook.  I was recently dragged – uh, invited – by a friend and can’t believe at how fast people have found me – about 40, seemingly overnight.  My 16 year old son thought it was kinda cool that I had a page.  My 21 year old daughter was a little uncertain, perhaps fearing mom-gone-wild status updates or photos.  (Believe me, I was a little nervous when she tagged 14 photos that suddenly appeared on my profile!  And I realized that being friends with my son means I receive his status updates like “going snowboarding, m-f-as”*.)  (*uh, not exactly what he said)

But this, I thought, was classic.  My friend received this message from her college frosh son.   If you knew him, you’d know it was at least partly tongue-in-cheek, but well, he really didn’t accept his mom’s friend request:

“Dear mother,  I am writing you this message to inform you that I will not be accepting your friend request.  It’s nothing personal, I just do not believe in adults having Facebook pages, let alone being friends with their offspring.  I wish you the best of luck in your Facebook endeavors, so long as you interests do not conflict with mine.  With love…”

Comments Off on Generations collide on Facebook!

Filed under Social media

Comments are closed.