More basics: how to get blogs in a reader (it’s easy) and best free software of 2009

Recently, a friend called to say she’d finally gotten around to checking out “Philanthrophile”, having been told about it last October.  She explained she was already on overload.  We all know that feeling:  I-just-cannot-handle-one-more-thing-in-my-email-inbox.   While I initially preferred that most of the blogs I read deliver to my inbox, I’m migrating to Google Reader.  When I enable Explorer, it automatically comes up as Google Reader, with the top 2 or 3 lines from new posts created by the blogs I follow.

Last month, I stumbled across “The Best Free Software of 2009” posted by PC Magazine (worth a read on its own), and learned that Google Reader got top marks in the “reader” category.   The Google Reader folks have posted a helpful and brief (<2 minute) video that explains how to get started using their reader, or any reader service, for that matter.

2 Comments

Filed under Blogging

2 responses to “More basics: how to get blogs in a reader (it’s easy) and best free software of 2009