Part I of II: The light side of reactions to the blog

This post is a two part report about what people are saying in the first 48 hours of this “baby blog’s” life.  The first shares the warm fuzzies while the second addresses a more serious topic and the concern: could a blog damage the interests of a non-profit by sharing “lessons learned”?

 

Steve asks:  “Interesting…but do you have to register as a philanthrophile?”

My answer:  “Only if I am offend.  But if that happens, I suppose I shall have to pick another ‘phile’.  Happily, there turns out to be a little website called  www.findtheword.info which offers me 106 options.”  (Who knew there were so many kinds of “philes” out there?)

 

I sent out an email about the launch to 51 friends and contacts who have an interest in philanthropy and/or marketing and PR.  Most of you (you know who you are) promised to check it out when you had time.  Yeah, right, I thought.  But the blog stats say that 49 visitors have stopped by for a gander.  (No, that doesn’t include me.  P.S.  I just figured out Feedburner’s subscription feature, and subscribed to its Ping-shot service that automatically updates search engines about new content, so the number should begin to grow beyond our hardy few.)

 

What happened next?

 

Lisa forwarded my e-mail announcement to her friends who are involved in philanthropic doings in the Bay area.

 

Cyndi sent me an interesting link to the PR, Social Media and Marketing Mentor ™ blog,

which has some interesting content as well as info on the author’s professional services.  Sure, the author has experience and credentials, but my blog has a better name…  Check out the blog with the long name at http://www.cathrynhrudicka.com/blog/

 

The blog also prompted Jim, a former colleague, to make an e-introduction to a friend of his who is associated with a foundation in the Bay area, because he thought “the two of you together could probably solve Iraq in a couple of days.”  Uh, Marine Corps Colonel father or not, no.

 

My email traffic and phone calls included many comments about being intrigued by the uses of blogs for people like me/us – that is, people who are interested in professional exchange, but not interested in online gossip or snarky commentary.  Made complete sense to me that LinkedIn, a social networking site for professionals, now offers an application that allows professionals to add their blogs to their profile.  (And quite accidentally, that app launched the night that I birthed the blog.)

 

Now check out part II for a serious question that deserves some attention:  will the blog give away the farm?

Comments Off on Part I of II: The light side of reactions to the blog

Filed under Blogging

Comments are closed.